Ed Lay - das Herz der Editors

• Wohlfühlen, Abtauchen und Spass haben
    Während des Konzerts der 'Editors' in Wiesbaden im Schlachthof hatte ich die Gelegenheit, nach dem Soundcheck, bei dem ich fotografieren durfte, Ed ein paar Fragen zu stellen. Seine ruhige, ja fast schüchterne und bodenständige Art ist so ziemlich das Gegenteil eines lauten, egomanen Musikers, der immer im Mittelpunkt stehen muss. Dabei hat der Engländer Einiges zu sagen und er macht einen Teil des Sounds der Editors aus. Auf der Bühne spielt er mit einer großen Präsenz, die fast im Widerspruch zu seinem sonstigen Auftreten wirkt.
    Vielen Dank an Thomas von Sonor, ohne ihn wäre das Interview nicht möglich gewesen.

DF: When did you start playing drums and why did you choose this instrument?

EL:It began for me when I started playing side drum in the marching band. When I got to high school, I tried to pick up the guitar but just never felt comfortable with it. One of my friends had a drum kit and I immediately felt at ease on that, so I was constantly round his house playing and trying to write tunes together.

DF: What is the meaning of drums for you?

EL:It’s my outlet really, physically and emotionally it’s always been a way to escape reality. I had a really solid, normal upbringing and lead a pretty quiet life outside of the band, but when I play or write I immerse myself in it. It’s like I’m leading a double life.

DF: When did you start playing professional?

EL:When I joined Editors we all moved into a house in Birmingham, UK. We were all working various jobs in the day and rehearsing at night, but it got to a point where we just had too many shows so we all quit our jobs and went full time with the band in 2004. Our first album, The Back Room, came out in 2005 and the band has been the focus of our lives ever since.

DF: Can you tell some impressions of Germany?