Jason Cooper - Die Basis von The Cure

• Kreativ die Musik unterstützen und nicht zu viel spielen
    Als Drummer der The-Cure-Tributeband 'piCtUREs of you' war es für mich schon etwas sehr Besonderes mit Jason Cooper, der seit Mitte der Neunziger Jahre zur Besetzung von The Cure zählt, in Kontakt treten zu können.
    Unkompliziert und schnell schickte er die Antworten auf meine teils bekannten Fragen. Die Handyaufnahmen stammen vom Hyde Park am 7. Juli 2018.

hp01.jpg

DF: When did you start playing drums and why did you choose this instrument?

JC: I started playing age twelve, I had played piano and violin but did not stick with it and when my form teacher asked if anyone wanted to play drums I jumped at the chance. He had a big old seventies SONOR-Kit and would show me a few rhythms. The school built a basic recording studio and within a few months I formed a band with my friends.

DF: What is the meaning of drums for you?

JC: Many things, joy, the chance to play great music with The Cure, to be creative, to see different places, face challenges and hit things musically.

DF: When did you start playing professional?

JC: I played with various bands in Hong Kong and Germany when I was 18 but my first proper job was to play with Jean Jaques Burnell of The Stranglers aged 19.

DF: How do you prepare a long tour like 2016 and how hard is it to perform so many songs more than three hours?

JC: By getting fit: swimming, running, yoga and eating well. It can be hard to play for 3 hours if I am really tired or unwell otherwise you just get on with it.

DF: What do you like on your job as a professional drummer and what is not so good?

JC: I actually feel very lucky to do something I love doing. The only downside is missing my family.

DF: How would you describe a good drummer and what is his/her part inside a band?

hp02.jpg