Cat Myers - Mehr als eine Backup-Drummerin

• Timekeeper with Flair & Imaginiation
    Während eines Gigs einer meiner Lieblingsbands, Mogwai, bemerkte ich, dass der Drummer irgendwie anders aussah. Da ich sehr weit hinten stand, konnte ich ihn nicht so genau erkennen. Dann stellte sich aber raus, dass es sich nicht um Martin Bulloch handelte, der erkrankt war, sondern Cat Myers schwang derart gekonnt die Stöcke, dass es mir zunächst garnicht auffiel, dass sie da trommelte. Wer sie mit ihrer Band Honeyblood erlebt, merkt, dass sie nicht nur eine Kopie eines Kollegen ist!
    Per Email nahm ich Kontakt mit ihr auf und stellte meine Fragen.

DF: When did you start playing drums and why did you choose this instrument?

CM: I started playing drums when I was 8, I my dad used to jam guitar around the house & I wanted to join in!

DF: What is the meaning of drums for you?

CM: Like a lot of people, music has always been a massive part of my life & learning how to drum along to my favourite albums as a kid was the best feeling ever. These days I get that same feeling every time I step on stage.

DF: When did you start playing professionally?

CM: I started playing professionally when I was around 22

DF: What do you like on your job as a professional drummer and what is not so good?

CM:A s far as I’m concerned I have the best job in the world however nothing comes easy & there are many difficult aspects to life as a drummer. Touring can be amazing but it is also hard to be away from home & loved ones for so long. At the start it was pretty difficult to make a living & I often had to get part time jobs to sustain myself, I feel very lucky that I don’t need to do that anymore.

DF: How would you describe a good drummer and what is his/her part inside a band?

CM: I think that really depends on the band, different bands require different attributes from a drummer. For me though a good drummer is an excellent time keeper with flair & imagination.